Twitter – medicine for a blog #hcsm

The first time I took a stab at using twitter, I just didn’t get it. I think many people had a similar experience, as twitter is a vast, unintuitive space, quite intimidating at first.

It wasn’t until I started my blog that I realized the value twitter brought to the table; twitter is medicine for a blog, each tweet a pill that slowly but surely makes the blog healthier. When you have a blog you want to get attention, write a tweet that sparks peoples interest and include a link to your blog post. Each time someone discovers the tweet, they click on the link and your blog visits grow, making your blog “healthier” in a manner of speaking.

Want to grow your blog and your twitter following? Write good content, expect nothing in return, tweet about the content and they will come!

Dr. Alan Glazier is an optometrist in private practice in Rockville, Maryland, a suburb of Washington, DC. Dr Glazier is a frequent lecturer on healthcare social media and is a professional blogger at sightnation.com.  Dr. Glazier won the first Northern Virginia Technology Council Award for “Best Use of Twitter” in 2010.  He has been interviewed by major publications regarding his cutting edge use of social media to market his small medical business.  His book on healthcare social media and search engine optimization is set to be published in September, so connect with him on twitter @EyeInfo or subscribe to this blog for alerts.

4 Responses

  1. Dr. Glazier:
    Saw the TMA’s story on your “twitter” expertise. We wish you were a member of MCMS-MedChi so we could benefit from your expertise! We are looking for physician members who are leading the way with technology use in their practices. Please join us. For an application for membership, go to http://www.montgomerymedicine.org. Or email me. Thanks!
    Susan D’Antoni, Executive Director

    • Susan,
      Thank you for the compliments and I’m so glad you connected with me. I would definitely consider becoming a member of MCMS MedChi, however I do not believe Optometrists are welcome as members. If I am mistaken, thank you for correcting me. In any event I would be willing to talk social media and search engine optimization with your organizations members anytime.

      Cheers
      Alan N. Glazier, OD, FAAO
      twitter: @EyeInfo

      • You are correct about MCMS being a physician organization. I appreciate you letting me know about your position.
        Still, I will follow you online!. The TMA reference was about Texas Medical Association. It was on facebook that I learned about you with a post they did about you and your e-efforts.
        Have a good day!

      • Thank you – I will check it out. Keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

